Home Competitions News Details

AIFF Media Team


NEW DELHI: Mizoram and Punjab made winning starts in the 71st National Football Championship for the Santosh Trophy being played in Goa.


At the GMC Bambolim Stadium, a dominant Mizoram ran past Maharashtra 3-1. Mizoram surged into an early lead when Lalchhuanawma Vanchhawng scored in the 8th minute.


Stung early, Maharashtra tried to regroup and it paid dividends when U-21 Player Rahul Das restored parity four minutes later.


But it was Mizoram who seized the initiative just prior to the interval when Lalfakzuala Fakzuala put them ahead in the 44th minute.


Changing over, Lalrinpuia sealed the fate of the match in the 55th minute for Mizoram.


In the other match, Punjab scraped past Railways 2-1. U-21 Player Manvir Singh put Punjab in the lead in the 16th minute, a score which Punjab held on till the interval.


Railways restored parity through striker Rajesh Soosanayakam in the 59th minute.


However, Punjab scored immediately in the next minute again, this time Rajbir Singh bulging the net in the 60th minute.

Posted on : Monday March 13, 2017