Fixtures & Results

About Team

Also known as the Blue Tigers, the Senior Men’s National Team is eligible to take part in the FIFA World Cup, AFC Asian Cup, SAFF Championship and various Invitational, International and Friendly matches involving National ‘A’ Teams.

The team’s first foray as an Independent Nation was in the first round of the 1948 Summer Olympics against France at the Cricketfield Stadium in London on July 31, 1948. Talimeren Ao captained the team with Balaidas Chatterjee as the coach-cum-manager. France overcame the stern Indian challenge 2-1.

India’s golden era was during the 1950s and early 1960s arguably, when under the coaching of Syed Abdul Rahim, the team won the Gold Medal in the inaugural Asian Games in Delhi in 1951, and repeated the feat in the 1962 Asian Games in Jakarta.

The Asian Games Gold in 1951 was India’s first-ever major trophy. Sahoo Mewalal scored the winner against Iran in the final. India followed that up with a fourth-place finish at the 1956 Summer Olympics in Melbourne where Neville D'Souza scored a hat-trick in a 4-2 win against hosts Australia, thus becoming the first Asian to attain the feat at the Olympics.

Read More