National Men's Team U23
India drawn with UAE, Maldives and China in AFC U23 Asian Cup Qualifiers
25 May 2023

AIFF Media Team

NEW DELHI: The India U-23 Men's Team were placed alongside United Arab Emirates, Maldives and China PR in Group G of the AFC U23 Asian Cup™ Qatar 2024 Qualifiers after the Official Draw held at the AFC House in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, on Thursday, May 25, 2023. Group G of the Qualifiers will be hosted by China between September 6-12, 2023.

The draw saw 43 teams divided into 10 groups of four and one group of three. Each group will be played at a centralised venue in a single round-robin format, with the 11 group winners and four best second-placed teams qualifying for the AFC U23 Asian Cup™ Qatar 2024. They will join Qatar, who have received automatic qualification as hosts, to form the final cast of 16 at the tournament, to be played between April 15 to May 3, 2024.

The AFC U23 Asian Cup™ Qatar 2024 will also serve as a qualifier for the Men's Olympic Football Tournament Paris 2024. The top three teams will directly qualify for the Olympic Games as the AFC representatives, while the fourth-best team will play in the AFC-CAF Play-off.

AFC U23 Asian Cup™ Qatar 2024 will be the competition's sixth edition, and India will attempt to make it to the final tournament for the first time.

India's qualifying fixtures

September 6: India vs Maldives
September 9: China PR vs India
September 12: United Arab Emirates vs India

AFC U23 Asian Cup™ Qatar 2024 Qualifiers Draw Result

Group A: Jordan (H), Syria, Oman, Brunei Darussalam
Group B: Korea Republic (H), Myanmar, Krygyz Republic, Qatar
Group C: Vietnam (H), Singapore, Yemen, Guam
Group D: Japan, Bahrain (H), Palestine, Pakistan
Group E: Uzbekistan (H), IR Iran, Hong Kong, Afghanistan
Group F: Iraq, Kuwait (H), Timor Leste, Macau
Group G: UAE, India, Maldives, China PR (H)
Group H: Thailand (H), Malaysia, Bangladesh, Philippines
Group I: Australia, Tajikistan (H), Laos, DPR Korea
Group J: Saudi Arabia (H), Cambodia, Lebanon, Mongolia
Group K: Turkmenistan, Indonesia (H), Chinese Taipei

Related news