Aizawl FC are Mizo Premier League Champions

Home Aizawl FC are Mizo Premier League Champions Details

AIFF Media Team


Defending Champions Aizawl FC defeated arch rivals Chanmari FC 30 to lift the Mizoram Pemier League at Aizawl’s Lammual Stadium. The newly promoted I-League Team went back home richer by Rs. 5 lakh, thus, becoming the sole Team to have won the title twice. On way to their title, Aizawl FC won ten matches, lose three and drew twice.


The first goal came in the 27th minute when Albert Zohmingmawia's cross was tapped in by an unmarked Aizawl FC striker Alfred Kemah Jaryan.


Six minutes later, the winners capitalised on a defensive blunder as Alfred made it 2-0.


The third goal came in the 47th minute when Brandon VL Remdiki headed home a cross bar rebound off Alfred's header.


Lal Thanhawla, the chief minister of Mizoram and also the founder president of the Mizoram Football Association handed over the winner's trophy in the presence of Scott O’Donell, Technical Director of the AIFF.


The Mizoram Premier League is a four month long competition where eight Clubs compete against each other twice. The top four move onto a double legged semifinal and the winners proceed to the Grand Finale.



Best Player: F. Lalrinpuia (Aizawl FC)


Best Goalkeeper: Lalawmpuia (Zo United FC)


Best Defender: Lalrinchhana Tochhawng (Chanmari FC)


Best Midfielder: K. Lalthathanga (Bethlehem Vengthlang FC)


Best Forward: F. Lalrinpuia (Aizawl FC)


Top Scorer: F. Lalrinpuia (Aizawl FC -- 13 goals from 11 matches).


(Report and pix courtesy: Mizoam Football Association).

Posted on : Thursday December 17, 2015