ATK best Chennaiyin in Hero ISL 2019-20 final to clinch record third title
15 Mar 2020

ATK FC became the first team in Hero Indian Super League (Hero ISL) history to win the title thrice after overcoming Chennaiyin FC 3-1 in the Hero ISL 2019-20 final played at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium in Goa on Saturday. It was the Marina Machans who saw more of the ball throughout the tie, but ATK were more clinical in front of goal and a sensational display by goalkeeper Arindam Bhattacharja saw them through.

Chennaiyin were on the front foot from the first whistle and put the ATK defence under serious pressure early on. Nerijus Valskis almost gave his team the lead in the third minute as he created space for a shot inside the box and had ATK goalkeeper Arindam Bhattacharja beat with a thumping effort. Unfortunately for Owen Coyle’s side, the ball came out after hitting the underside of the crossbar.

After surviving the early scare, ATK started to create a few chances of their own and Michael Soosairaj came close with a long ranger which narrowly missed the far post. In the 10th minute, it was the red and whites who took the lead, perhaps against the tide of the game. Roy Krishna was set free down the left wing and the Fijian fizzed in a cross from out wide. Javier Hernandez found himself on the end of Krishna’s cross and volleyed past Vishal Kaith to make it 1-0.

Read the full match report here.

Related news