Senior National Team
AFC Asian Cup 2023 Draw: India in Pot 4
10 May 2023

AIFF Media Team

NEW DELHI: It’s been four years since India experienced the thrill of a 4-1 win against Thailand, followed by the disappointment of elimination from the tournament after consecutive losses against hosts UAE (0-2) and Bahrain (0-1).

The Blue Tigers, after a successful qualifying campaign for the continental competition, are now all set for the AFC Asian Cup Draw, set to take place in Doha, on Thursday, May 11, 2023, at 4.30 pm IST. The event will be streamed live on The AFC Asian Cup YouTube channel.

Twenty-four teams have been divided into four pots, and will be drawn into six groups of four teams each for the AFC Asian Cup 2023. India have been placed in Pot 4. Hosts and defending champions Qatar will start from Pot 1, and will be the first team to be drawn into Group A, with the rest to be drawn arbitrarily into all the groups (A-F).

India head coach Igor Stimac said ahead of the draw, “There’s great anticipation before the draw. There’s still some time left until the competition itself, and I would say that it is very important, how well we use that time to prepare, rather than concentrate on who our opponents will be. I truly believe in our team and the work that they put in, and with the support of the huge Indian fan base in Qatar, we can achieve our goals.”

In the AFC Asian Cup, the top two teams from each group will make it to the Round of 16, while the four best third-placed teams across the six groups will join them in the knockout rounds.

The AFC Asian Cup 2023 will be India’s fifth appearance in the competition, with the Blue Tigers having participated at the continental level in 1964, 1984, 2011, and 2019 previously. Their best finish in Asia has been a runners-up place in the 1964 edition of the competition.

Draw Seedings:

Pot 1: Qatar, Japan, IR Iran, Korea Republic, Australia, Saudi Arabia.

Pot 2: Iraq, UAE, Oman, Uzbekistan, China PR, Jordan.

Pot 3: Bahrain, Syria, Palestine, Vietnam, Kyrgyz Republic, Lebanon.

Pot 4: India, Tajikistan, Thailand, Malaysia, Hong Kong, Indonesia.

Related news