Dempo edge past Bhawanipore

Home Competitions News Details

Dempo (Alwyn George – 67th, Beto – 76th




Bhawanipore FC (Dipendu Dowary – 9th )


By Debayan Mukherjee,
AIFF Media Team,


MANJERI: Dempo Sports Club came from a goal down to win their first Federation Cup encounter 2-1 against Bhawanipore FC here at the MDSC Stadium in Manjeri on Tuesday (January 14, 2014).


Second-half strikes from Roberto Mendes Silva and Alwyn George sealed the match for the Goan giants after Bhwanipore had taken the lead courtesy a Dipendu Dowary fine strike.


If the first half belonged to Bhawanipore, the second session was Dempo’s.   


While Alwyn George scored from close in the 66th minute, Beto curled in a freekick from the edge of the box ten minutes later.


Receiving a pass from J Prasad, Dipendu Dowary cut inside and unleashed a venomous left-footer that swerved past Dempo custodian Laxmikant Kuttimani.


Much to the surprise of many who expected a lopsided encounter, Bhawanipore FC were the better side in the first half attacking through the wings and keeping the ball better in the middle of the park.


Dipendu Dowary put forward a masterclass performance as the lone striker. With Daniel Bidemi playing in the Bhawanipore five-man midfield and Prasad deployed in the hole behind Dipendu, the latter thrived up front darting down the right channel to give India International Narayan Das of Dempo a hard time at left back.


Dempo had few chances early on but failed to capitalise on them. Arthur Papas brought in Alwyn George in place of Pronay Halder in the 38th minute to enhance his attacking options but still Dempo found their going hard until the last few minutes when Beto floated in three corners. 


On the other end, Nabin Hela of Bhawanipore, who came in place of injured Jose Barreto, saw his snapshot being fisted away by Kuttimani.


Post the breather, things turned on its head as Dempo dominated proceedings ceasing the initiative from Bhawanipore. They passed the ball better and had more intent in the final third. THe five-time National champions were rewarded as Alwyn and Beto found the back of the net in quick succession to avoid an early upset in the Tournament.

Posted on : Tuesday January 14, 2014