Home National youth team News Details

AIFF Media Team


India 7 (Singson 2’, Anish Mazumder 33’, Taison Singh 37’, Shubho Paul 85’, Himanshu Jangra 88’, 89’ (p), 90’)




Keciorengucu FC 0


NEW DELHI: Following-up on their successful run at the SAFF U-15 Championship last month, the India U-16 Boys’ Team marched to a 7-0 victory over Turkish club Keciorengucu FC, in Turkey, on Monday (September 9, 2019).


Forward Himanshu Jangra, who earned the Top Scorer and the Most Valuable Player awards in the SAFF Championship, was the star of the show again, as he struck a late hattrick to make it an emphatic win for the Blue Colts.


India got off to a swift start when a short corner was played to the far post by winger Shubho Paul, as centre back Singson nodded it in. Singson’s defensive partner Anish Mazumder made it two after the half-hour mark when he headed in a corner by Taison Singh.


Taison himself turned scorer when Sridarth played him into the area with a little over five minutes left for the half-time whistle. The former slipped it past the opposition keeper to make it 3-0 in India’s favour.


Keciorengucu FC came out with much more conviction in the second half and did not allow the Indian midfielders and forwards to settle down. India custodian Aman Kumar Sahani had to make a few smart saves to not let the home side reduce the lead.


However, the Blue Colts brought the game alive in the last five minutes of the match. Sridarth got another assist, when he played Shubho through on goal, as the latter made it 4-0.


Soon after, it was second-half substitute Himanshu Jangra’s turn to shine. Shubho crossed it in for the striker, who nodded it in. Just a minute later, Himanshu converted a penalty to make it 6-0.


The forward completed his three-minute hattrick on the 90th minute, making it a comprehensive victory for the Indians, who will now play Fenerbahce on Wednesday, September 11 at 6.30pm IST.


India Starting XI: Aman Sahani; Pritam Meetei (C), Singson, Anish Mazumder, Amandeep; Sibajit Singh, Yoihenba Meitei, Maheson Singh; Shubho Paul, Taison Singh, Sridarth.

Posted on : Monday September 09, 2019