Johnson announces 23-member squad for AFC U-19 Qualifiers

Home National youth team News Details

AIFF Media Team


NEW DELHI: Head Coach Lee Johnson has announced his list of 23 Players to represent the Indian U-19 National Team in the AFC U-19 Qualifiers which are slated to kick-off from October 02, 2015 in Al-Ram, Palestine.


The Indian colts have been clubbed in Group C alongside hosts Palestine, United Arab Emirates (UAE) and Afghanistan in Group C. India play their first match against Palestine on October 2. Thereafter, the Colts face UAE and Afghanistan on October 4 and 6 respectively.


The 23 member squad has been churned out from the Indian U-19 Team which finished runners-up in the SAFF U-19 Championship and from the Indian squad which is currently participating in the FAM-FRENZ Asia Champions Trophy 2015.


Head Coach of the Indian U-19 National Team, Lee Johnson said: "The Players are showing confidence going into the Competition. At the same time we acknowledge the fact that we are drawn in a competitive group and no game will be easy.”


"We have to work hard, maintain our focus and concentrate on one game at a time,” added the former Chelsea and Crystal Palace Academy Coach.


The 23 member Indian squad will be leaving Indian shores from Delhi at 4am on September 30.


The 23 member list follows:


GOALKEEPERS: Sayak Barai, Rafique Ali Sardar, Sukhdev Shivaji Patil.


DEFENDERS: Shahabaaz, Kapil Boro, Nishu Kumar, Gursimrat Singh Gill, Mohd Sajid Dhot, Sarthak Golui, Amey Ganesh Ranawade, Lalthakima.


MIDFIELDERS: Lalramzauva Khiangte, Malsawmzuala, Bidyananda Singh Ningthoujam, Rakesh Oram, Vinit Rai.


FORWARDS: Suman Sarkar, Milan Basumatary, Moinuddin, Daniel Lalhlimpuia, Muhammed Ashique Kuruniyan, Lallianzuala Chhangte, Mawihmingthanga.


HEAD COACH: Lee Johnson.

Posted on : Tuesday September 29, 2015