National Women's Team U16
India's 23-member squad for SAFF U16 Women's Championship announced by Biby Thomas
26 Feb 2024

AIFF Media Team

NEW DELHI: India U16 women's team head coach Biby Thomas Muttath announced a 23-member squad for the upcoming SAFF U16 Women's Championship in Lalitpur, Nepal, from March 1 to 10, 2024.

After being chosen in a selection trial, the probables had been training in Goa, from which the final 23 players were selected. The Young Tigresses will depart for Nepal on Tuesday, February 27.

This is the first time the tournament is being held for the U16s. India have twice won the SAFF U15 Women's Championship in 2018 and 2019, beating Bangladesh in the final on both occasions.

India's 23-member squad for the SAFF U16 Women's Championship:

Goalkeepers: Konjengbam Tamphasana Devi, Munni, Surajmuni Kumari.

Defenders: Amrita Ghosh, Bonifilia Shullai, Divyani Linda, Elizabed Lakra, Gauri Gurav, Rheanna Liz Jacob, Rupashree Munda, Sarangthem Alena Devi.

Midfielders: Anita Dungdung, Anushka Kumari, Anwita Raghuraman, H Yashica, Longjam Nira Chanu, Ritu Badaik, Shveta Rani, Thanda Moni Baskey.

Forwards: Gurleen Kaur, Gurnaz Kaur, Neha Saji, Pearl Fernandes.

Head coach: Biby Thomas Muttath

India's schedule at the SAFF U16 Women's Championship:

March 1, 14:45 IST: India vs Bhutan
March 5, 14:45 IST: Bangladesh vs India
March 7, 14:45 IST: India vs Nepal
March 10, 14:45 IST: Final (top two teams from round-robin stage)

All matches will be played at the ANFA Complex in Lalitpur.

Related news