Huge wins for Minerva Academy, Electric Veng Futsal Club
09 Feb 2023

AIFF Media Team

NEW DELHI: On the second day of the 2022-23 season of the Hero Futsal Club Championship at the Indira Gandhi Indoor Stadium here on Thursday, February 9, 2023, Minerva Academy FC registered a big victory, thumping Aphuyemi Football Club 14-2.

Minerva captain Nikhil Mali scored seven goals (1’, 8’, 10’, 36’, 39’, 39’, 39’) alone, while substitute Clinton D’Souza scored a hat-trick (15’, 22’, 35’). Jayesh Sutar (31’), Abhay Gurung (30’), substitutes Rugved Yeole (15’) and Sandesh Malpote (30’) scored one each.

Electric Veng Futsal Club outplayed Dzawo 11 FC, winning 10-2. The match became one-sided in the first half itself as the former made it 6-1 at the break. Lalsangkima led the charge with a hat-trick, scoring in the sixth, 17th and 28th minutes. Lalrinsanga Khawlhring (4’, 23’) and Lahlimpuia (7’, 18’) scored a brace each. However, Dzawo opened scoring in the second minute of the match through Stanzin Namgyal. Their other goal was scored by Tsering Dorjey (24’).

The match between Mohammedan Sporting and BPSS FC was much closer. In the end, the Kolkata side won 4-2. After a goalless first half, Vijay R put BPSS ahead in the 21st minute but Mohammedan captain Shamshad Ali equalised in the next minute. UK Surya made it 2-1 soon but goals from Sanjay Sharma (24’), Suvo Khatoora (32’) and substitute Hilton Fernandes (39’) won it for the black-and-white brigade.

Capital Complex FC and Juggernaut FC, Ahmedabad played out an exciting 5-5 draw. Tapi Hakhe scored two (13’, 14’) for Capital while Techi Tatra (25’), Tarh Dolu (15’) and substitute Tangru James (37’ penalty) scored one each. Sabareesh Sunder (26’, 40’) and Dishu Singh (3’, 13’) scored a brace each for the Ahmedabad team. The other goal was scored by Dev Patel.

Bengaluru FC humbled

In the last match of the day, Speed Force FC defeated Bengaluru FC 4-3. Speed Force had taken a 2-0 lead within the first ten minutes of the match through goals from Zubair bin Sultan (9’) and Mohammed Jawaad Hussain (10’). Bengaluru did well to make it 2-2 through substitute Nirmanyu Singh Atri (12’) and Shreyas Ketkar (21’). They even went ahead in the 30th minute when Clarence Savio Fernandes scored. But Speed Force substitute Ibrahim Ali scored twice in the 34th and 38th minute to clinch the issue.

Related news