Futsal Club Championship 2024
Delhi FC, Electric Veng and Thyristor book quarter-final berths
01 Jul 2024

AIFF Media Team

Former champions Delhi FC, and Mizoram sides Electric Veng FC and FC Thyristor booked their quarter-final berths after the conclusion of the group stage of the AIFF Futsal Club Championship 2023-24 at the Swarnim Gujarat Sports University in the Vadodara district of Gujarat on Monday, July 1, 2024.

FC Thyristor ride on Roluahpuia masterclass

Needing all three points to make the quarter-finals, FC Thyristor, Ramhlun Venglai got the job done easily as they beat Baroda Football Academy 7-3 to confirm the top spot in Group C.

Having already been eliminated, Baroda, who only had pride to play for, took the lead in the fifth minute after a superb finish from Saurabh Nikam. But Thyristor's response was as fierce as it gets. The Mizoram side went on to score six goals in the last 10 minutes of the first half, with Roluahpuia netting the first four, including a three-minute hat-trick. First, he went around the goalkeeper to score, then blasted in a low shot, then tapped in a loose ball before an outside-the-boot finish.

Lalawmpuia and Peter Lalrinhlua added two more goals to make it 6-1 at half-time and that was game over. After the restart, Aniket Kanojiya's long-ranger and Nikam's second goal was only enough for a consolation for Baroda, while Laltluangzela scored Thyristor's seventh and final goal.

Pulsating draw enough for Electric Veng FC

Last season's semi-finalists Electric Veng FC played out a rollercoaster 4-4 draw with Bangalore Arrows FC to secure second spot in Group B and qualify for the quarter-finals. Bangalore Arrows required a two-goal win to progress and they got off to the perfect start, scoring twice in the opening 10 minutes. Surya UK first assisted captain Narendra Prasad Vincent Mari for a simple finish before bundling in a loose ball to score himself. Nikhil Ayyappa Nunna could've made it three had his penalty not been saved by F Lalremruatkina. But a few minutes later, Electric Veng got a penalty of their own which paved their way back into the match as VL Rindika converted with ease. Two minutes before the break, Bangalore Arrows lost possession in their third and Lalhlimpuia capitalised to make it 2-2.

The Karnataka side retook the lead briefly as Surya found the top corner in the first minute of the second half. But two top quality goals from Lalrinzuala H in the 25th and 27th minute turned things back in Electric Veng's favour. There was still time for Bangalore Arrows to claw back into the match, but apart from a 35th-minute equaliser from Narendra, they couldn't conjure more and bowed out in their debut campaign.

Delhi FC prove too good for Casa Barwani

Former champions Delhi FC delivered a 13-2 drubbing of Casa Barwani SC to grab the last quarter-final spot. The margin was only 2-1 at half-time as Thokchom Denish Singh and Lamgoumang Kipgen gave Delhi the early lead and Abujafar Karikar halved the deficit in the 15th minute. But the team which emerged out of the tunnel after the break meant real business as they went on a goal-binge session that could only be stopped by the full-time whistle 20 minutes later. Thiyam Malemnganba Singh (22'), Hemneichung Lunkim (23'), Kh Azlaan Shah (28', 28' and 32'), Konthouajam Yohenba Singh (32'), Salaam Mahesh (36', 37' and 39'), Huidrom Poireinganba Mangang (37') and Denish (39') scored 11 goals, which is a record for the most in one half of a match this season. Regan A (34') got the lone goal for Casa Barwani in the second half.

Millat FC fire into double digits

While Millat FC had already qualified for the knockout stage before their clash against Sports Odisha, that didn't stop the Mumbai club from putting 10 past Group A's bottom-placed team. They ran out 10-2 winners, bagging their third straight win in the group stage to set up a quarter-final meeting with Golazo FC.

Although Prasanta Srihari's sixth-minute goal put Sports Odisha ahead, Millat quickly turned things around with a brace from Kamran Juned Siddique and goals from Danzel Fernandes and Rishon Sam to lead 4-1 at the break. The spree of goals continued after the restart as Merick Fernandes tucked in from close range in the 22nd minute before Danzel added another. Sunny Koli joined the party with a quickfire brace in the 25th and 26th minute. Siddique completed his hat-trick six minutes later before Belarsen Kanhar pulled another consolation goal for Sports Odisha. Three minutes from time, Rishon set up Aburazeen Patel for the 10th and final Millat goal.

Quarter-final fixtures (July 3):
11:00 IST: Corbett FC vs Delhi FC
14:00 IST: Minerva Academy FC vs Ambelim SC
17:00 IST: FC Thyristor vs Electric Veng FC
20:00 IST: Golazo FC vs Millat FC

Related news