Futsal Club Championship 2024
Corbett FC, FC Thyristor, Golazo FC have a field day on the court 
27 Jun 2024

AIFF Media Team

VADODARA: Corbett FC, FC Thyristor and Golazo FC made their rivals dance to their tunes with emphatic wins in A, C and D groups, respectively, in the AIFF Futsal Club Championship at the Swarnim Gujarat Sports University, in the Vadodara district, Gujarat, on Thursday, June 27, 2024.

In Group B, Goal Hunterz FC earned full points, but not before they were given a tough fight by Bangalore Arrows before going down 1-2. While Corbett FC routed Sports Odisha 5-0 and FC Thyristor sent Guwahati City Football Club packing with a 7-1 victory, equally menacing were Golazo FC from Himachal Pradesh, who outplayed Casa Barwani Soccer Club 9-2.     

Corbett FC hammer five past Sports Odisha

In the day’s first match, debutants Corbett FC toyed with hapless Sports Odisha to win 5-0 and stay atop Group A with nine points. Lalbiakzuala opened the scoring with an early goal in the 3rd minute, while Jenishsinh Rana extended the lead in the 17th minute. The second half saw another three goals from the winners. After Lalbiakzuala added another goal to his tally in the 28th minute, Rana found the net once again just two minutes later. The final goal of the match came through Shivam Yadav in the 33rd minute. 

Full points for Goal Hunterz FC

Goal Hunterz FC registered their first win in the championship with a narrow 2-1 verdict against Bangalore Arrows. After a goalless first half, Ansh Gupta opened the scoring for the winners in the 29th minute after receiving a quick pass from Mukul Singh Shoun from the right. Mahip Adhikari increased the margin in the 33rd minute, taking advantage of the open space after rival goalkeeper Abhishek Ramesh moved forward. In the 39th minute, Nikhil Ayyappa Nunna scored for Bangalore Arrows FC, but that was all they could do. To make matters worse for them, defender Barry Anand Francis received marching orders in the 36th minute.

FC Thyristor on a roll 

In Group C, table toppers FC Thyristor, Ramhlun Venglai, found their rivals Guwahati City Football Club a slice of easy meat and scored a thumping 7-1 win after leading by half a dozen goals at the breather. It was a sheer mismatch as the winners opened the scoring in the first minute through K Roluahpuia, who finally ended up with three goals in his kitty. C Lalrinhlua, Laltuangzela, PC Lalremruata and Lalawmpuia were the other scorers. While FC Thyristorhave now six points from two matches after back-to-back emphatic wins, the Guwahati side are still empty handed at the end of three matches.        

Goals galore in Golazo FC win 

In the day’s last match, Casa Barwani Soccer Club from Madhya Pradesh were all at sea against Golazo FC, who nearly scored at will to win 9-2. In the one-sided contest, the winners slammed five before half time and added another four in the next 20 minutes. For the losers, both goals came in the second half. Stephen Satarkar was the hero for the winners as he alone accounted for five goals. Clinton Rosario D’Souza, Sachin Patil, Jayesh Sutar and Suraj Bhariat were the other scorers. Casa Barwani’s goals came through Regan A and Shivkumar Shetty (own goal).  It was the first match for both teams. 

Friday's matches: Sports Odisha vs Corbett FC (12 noon); Bangalore Arrows FC vs Goal Hunterz FC (2.30 pm); FC Thyristor vs Ambelim Sports Club (5 pm); Delhi FC vs Golazo FC (7.30 pm).

Related news