Women Football
01 Aug 2018

AIFF Media Team

NEW DELHI: 23 Players have been selected in the Indian U-15 Women’s National Team for the SAFF U-15 Women’s Championship in Bhutan following a National Camp in Cuttack, Odisha that kicked-off on July 15, 2018.

The Indian U-15s have been drawn in Group A of the SAFF U-15 Women’s Championship alongside hosts Bhutan and Sri Lanka. While the Indian eves face Sri Lanka on August 09, 2018, they square off against the hosts on August 13, 2018. This will be the second edition of the SAFF U-15 Women’s Championship, the earlier one held in 2017 in Dhaka where the Indian girls finished runners-up to hosts Bangladesh.

9 girls from the sub-junior Girls National Championship 2018-19 champions Manipur, along with 26 other players were called for the preparatory camp in Cuttack, but only 23 players made the cut for the final squad of the Indian U-15 Women’s National Team.

“We have a very talented squad and the girls are improving every day”, said Head Coach Firmin D’Souza. “Most of the countries participating in the SAFF Cup have shown major improvement over the last 2 years, especially Bangladesh as they qualified for the AFC Championship last year, won the SAFF Cup last year and this year in April went onto win the Four nation CGI Youth Football tournament”

“They certainly seem to be a very formidable side and we will have to prepare well to face them. We will not leave an inch in our efforts to do so”

The list of the 23 players follows below:

GOALKEEPERS: Tanu, Manisha, Anjali Barke.

DEFENDERS: Ritu Devi, Naorem Devi, Sangeeta Das, Kavita, Sarita Soreng, Arya Sree, Jyoti Kumari.

MIDFIELDERS: Priyanka Sujeesh, Jhanvi Shetty, Avika Singh, Poonam, Kiran, Nisha, Kritina Devi, Varsha, Lynda Kom.

FORWARDS: Anju, Mmehak Lobo, Sunita Munda, H.Shilky Devi.

HEAD COACH: Firmin D’Souza

 India’s fixtures in the SAFF U-15 Women’s Championship:

 AUGUST 09: India vs Sri Lanka

 AUGUST 13: India vs Bhutan.

Related news