News Center

Home Referee News Details

Refereeing Seminar for Sates ends successfully

Posted on : Tuesday May 27, 2014

AIFF Media Team


NEW DELHI: All India Football Federation organised first-of-its-kind Pilot Project for Head of Referees (States) concluded successfully at the AIFF Football House in New Delhi on Tuesday (May 27, 2014).


The two-day Course which aimed to further educate the states that are already aligned with the Refereeing Structure followed at the Governing Body saw 11 participants from eight states namely Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, Orissa, Sikkim, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram and Assam.


“Refereeing in India has become professional and at the moment we have six FIFA referees with us. It is imperative for all the states to know that the aspiring referees of their region can also take up this as their career option,” AIFF Head of Referees Col. Goutam Kar told


“The two-day Seminar focused on the process of referee recruiting, training, examination, and development with an aim to professionalize the refereeing as a career option,” he added.


Waxing lyrical about the relevance of the Seminar RD Sow, who apart from representing Chhattisgarh as an HOR in the Seminar is also AIFF Player Status Committee Member and a Match Commissioner, said: “The initiative is great and certainly laudable.


“Such seminars not only lead us to the right path as HOR’s of states but also help us earmark the things to be done for our states. Planning is a very important part of a HOR’s job. Getting the job done, planning referee development program for the next two years. All that needs to be done in line with the prescribed Refereeing structure so that all is in one line.”


The two-day Course predominantly focused on how Head of Referees in different states can function in a systematic manner in the overall developing of Referees and planning a programme for the same.


List of participants:


Rd Sow (Chhattisgarh), SHA Naqvi (Madhya Pradesh), Shadev Rout (Orissa), Jugal Chandra Das (Orissa), Chamchuk Lama (Sikkim), Jadavchandra Haobam (Manipur), Y Mangoliao Singh (Manipur), DL Nongbri (Meghalaya), Laldawngliana (Mizoram), Akhtar Hussain (Assam).