Home Women football News Details

AIFF Media Team


NEW DELHI: The Hero Sub-Junior Girls’ National Football Championship 2019-20, which is a competition between the U-13 state teams in India, got underway in Cuttack, Odisha on Friday, June 7.


With the Hero Indian Women’s League coming to an end last month in Ludhiana Punjab, it is now time to turn our attention towards the junior level, as the country prepares for the 2020 FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup.


A total of 25 teams are set to take part in the tournament, which is an increase from the previous year, when the total number of participants was 22. The matches are set to be played across three stadiums – Barabati Stadium, DRIEMS College Ground and the Ravenshaw University Ground.


The teams are divided into eight groups, with the top teams from each group making it to the quarterfinals, which are set to be played on June 15 and 16, followed by the semifinals on June 18, and the final on June 20.


Manipur, who are the defending champions, have been drawn in Group F, alongside Delhi and Bihar. 

Posted on : Friday June 07, 2019