Home Senior national News Details

AIFF Media Team


YANGON: Three days after winning their first-ever away International Friendly match since June 2005 against Cambodia in Phnom Penh, the Indian Senior National Team landed in Yangon on Saturday (March 25, 2017) afternoon for what National Coach Stephen Constantine described as a “bigger challenge.”


Constantine took the boys to a pool session almost immediately after arriving at the Team Hotel. “We have been travelling all day – from the bus to the flight to the transit in the airport; the flight again, wait at the immigration and then the bus to the Hotel. It was important to take the boys out in the fresh air, there’s a bit of sunlight and it’s the best manner to shake out the cobwebs,” he stated.


Constantine said that it was nice to be training in Phnom Penh for two days after the International Friendly. “The weather conditions in Phnom Penh are almost similar to that of Yangon. The sessions were very helpful and I need to thank the Cambodia Football Federation for their cooperation.”


The Indian Team will be having their first practice session on Sunday afternoon in Yangon and will be practicing at the match venue for an hour on Monday evening.


Referring to the crucial clash against Myanmar, Constantine echoed: “The match against Cambodia was necessary to gauge a lot of things. But Myanmar will be a much bigger challenge for us. We are aware of their strength. Their recent performances show how difficult a Team they are to play against.”


The last time India played in Yangon was in the Qualifiers of the AFC Challenge Cup in 2013 when they went down by a solitary goal in the decider.


The list of 24 stay as follows:


GOALKEEPERS: Subrata Paul, Gurpreet Singh Sandhu, TP Rehneesh.


DEFENDERS: Pritam Kotal, Nishu Kumar, Sandesh Jhingan, Arnab Mondal, Anas Edathodika, Dhanpal Ganesh, Fulganco Cardozo, Narayan Das, Jerry Lanrinzuala.


MIDFIELDERS: Jackichand Singh, Udanta Singh, Eugeneson Lyngdoh, Milan Singh, Md. Rafique, Rowllin Borges, Halicharan Narzary, CK Vineeth.


FORWARDS: Jeje Lelkephlua, Sunil Chhetri, Daniel Lalhimpuia, Robin Singh.

Posted on : Saturday March 25, 2017