22-member Squad announced for SAFF Women’s Championship

Home Women football News Details

AIFF Media Team


NEW DELHI: A 22-member preliminary squad for the upcoming SAFF Women’s Championship has been declared, and the contingent is currently training in Patiala, Punjab.


The final Squad of 20 will be travelling to Islamabad in Pakistan for the third edition of the SAFF Championship of which India are the reigning champions.


Eight countries namely India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, Bhutan, Nepal, Maldives and Sri Lanka will be taking part in the tournament inhabited by SAARC (South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation) members only.


India -- the highest ranked team in the competition – have also been the most successful team in the tournament winning the crown twice including its inaugural  edition in 2010 and the last in 2012, beating Nepal on both occasions in the final.


The 22-member Squad:


GOALKEEPERS: Okram Roshni Devi, Anjana Saikia


DEFENDERS: Ashem Romi Devi, Loitongbam Ashalata Devi, Suprava Samal, Gurumayum Radharani Devi, Sumitra Marandi, Thokchom Umapati Devi, Supriya Routray


MIDFIELDERS: Yumnam Kamala Devi, Yumlembam Premi Devi, Nameirakpam Montesori Chanu, Oinam Bembem Devi, Lako Phuti Bhutia, Moirangathem Mandakni Devi, Manpreet Kaur, Indumathi Kathiresan


FORWARDS: Irom Prameshwori Devi, Ngangom Bala Devi, Gita Das, Jyoti Ann Burrett, Michel Margaret Castanha.        

Posted on : Monday October 27, 2014