India Achievements

Home India Achievements

SAFF Championship 2015:


India went on to winning their seventh SAFF Championship in 2015 ahead of their home crowd in Kerala. India breezed past Sri Lanka and Nepal in the group phase. But they had to toil hard to go past Maldives in the semi-final. Sunil Chhetri (25') and Jeje Lalpekhlua (34') scored in the first half while Nashid (45+2') halved the gap at the stroke of the first half. Lalpekhlua completed his brace in the second half. Amdhan Ali scored again for the visitors but it could not deter the inevitable.


India were to face Afghanistan in the final, the defending champions. Amiri put the visitors at the front in the 70th minute while Jeje Lalpekhlua cancelled their lead just two minutes later. The match went to the extra time when none but Sunil Chhetri scored the winner in the 101st minute to lift the seventh SAFF Championship.


Nehru Cup 2012:


India defeated Cameroon 5-4 (2-2) in the penalty shootout in the Final at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium. The shootout was enforced after both the teams were deadlocked 2-2 after extra-time. Gouramangi Singh put India in the lead in the first half while Captain Sunil Chhetri scored the other from the spot to stretch it to extra-time.


The Tournament was the first under Coach Wim Koevermans. India’s style of play, both on the off the ball, earned lavish praise from all including critics.


SAFF Championship 2011:


India reigned supreme in the SAFF Championship held at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium. India defeated Afghanistan 4-0 in the final. The highlight of the Tournament stayed the sublime form of striker Sunil Chhetri who scored in every match and bagged all the Man of the Match Awards leading to the Final.


AFC U-16 Qualifiers 2011:


India U-16 boys finished second to Uzbekistan in Tashkent to qualify for the Final Phase of the AFC U-16 Championship. India beat Bahrain, Tajikistan and Kyrgyzstan while going down to the hosts in the qualifying phase.


In the final phase held in Tehran in 2012, India were held to a goalless draw by Syria and to a 2-2 draw by China. In the first match, India went down narrowly to Uzbekistan 2-3.


Nehru Cup 2009:


India went on to defend their Nehru Cup title when they defeated a strong Syria in the final via a penalty shootout. ‘Spiderman’ Subrata Pal made two acrobatic saves to send the crowd into a frenzy. Earlier, Renedy Singh had scored off a free-kick in extra-time only for it to be neutralised five minutes later.


AFC Challenge Cup 2008: 


India won the AFC Challenge Cup 2008 held in Hyderabad/Delhi defeating Tajikistan 4-1 in the Final. The victory earned India a ticket to the AFC Asia Cup 2011 to be held in Qatar. Sunil Chhetri scored a hat-trick in the final while Captain Bhaichung Bhutia scored the other.


AFC Under-16 Championship 2008: 


India’s Under 16 Team qualified for the Final Round of the AFC Under 16 Championship after the Qualification Round in Saudi Arabia in November 2007. India were grouped with Iraq, Saudi Arabia, Lebanon, Sri Lanka & Bhutan. India beat Sri Lanka 6-0, drew 2-2 with Iraq, beat Lebanon 3-0, defeated Saudi Arabia 3-0 & Bhutan 4-0 in the qualification round.


In the AFC U-16 Championship (Final Phase) held in Tashkent, India lost to the Korea Republic and Syria and won against Indonesia.


ONGC Nehru Cup 2007: 


India won the ONGC Nehru Cup 2007 defeating Syria by a solitary goal in the final played at the Ambedkar Stadium. NP Pradeep made the difference between the two teams in front of a packed house.


Asian Games:


GOLD MEDAL – 1951: India won the Gold Medal in the inaugural 1951 Delhi Asian Games. India led by the Late Sailen Manna and Coaches by the Late SA Rahim beat Iran by a solitary goal scored by the Late S Mewalal in the final.


GOLD MEDAL – 1962: India won their second Gold Medal in the 1962 Jakarta Asian Games. Led by Chuni Goswami and Coached by the Late SA Rahim, India defeated South Korea 2- in the final. PK Banerjee & the Late Jarnail Singh scored one apiece for India.


BRONZE MEDAL – 1970: India, Captained by Syed Nayeemuddin and Coached by GMH Basha won the Bronze Medal at the 1970 Asian Games.



India finished at 4th place in the 1956 Melbourne Olympics. Neville D’Souza became the first Indian to score a hat-trick in the Olympics. His hat-trick helped India beat hosts Australia 4-2. However, India lost 0-3 to Bulgaria to finish 4th.


Asia Cup:


India Qualified for the Final Round held at Tel Aviv in 1964 and won the Silver Medal. India beat South Korea 2-0, lost to Israel 0-2 and beat Hong Kong 3-1.


India next qualified for the Asia Cup Final Round in 1984 held in Singapore. In the Final round, India lost 0-2 to Singapore, lost to UAE 0-2, drew with Iran 0-0 and lost to China 0-3.


India’s next campaign in the Asian Cup was in 2011 after India qualified for the Tournament by virtue of winning the 2008 AFC Challenge Cup. The Tournament was held in Qatar.


Asian Youth Championship:


India won the Gold Medal (Joint winners with IR Iran) at the Asian Youth Championship in 1974 in Bangkok. Captained by Shabbir Ali and Coached by SA Alam and Arun Ghosh, India were held 2-2 by Iran. N Lateefuddin and Shabbir Ali scored one goal each for India.

Pesta Sukan Trophy:


In 1971, India won the Pesta Sukan Trophy held in Singapore. India finished as joint winners with South Korea. While Chandreshwar Prasad stayed the Captain, the Team was Coached by PK Banerjee and GMH Basha.


LG Cup:


India defeated hosts Vietnam 3-2 in final to lift the LG Cup held in Ho Cgi Minh City in 2002. In the final, Bhaichung Bhutia scored a brace while Abhishek Yadav headed in the winning goal. Stephen Constantine stayed the Coach.


SAF Games:


India have emerged winners thrice in this multi-disciplined Games held for South Asian Nations.

1985 (Dhaka): India, Captained by the Late Sudeep Chatterjee and coached by PK Banerjee beat Bangladesh 5-3 in a penalty shootout in the Final.


1987 (Kolkata): M Fareed scored India’s winner against Nepal in the Final. India were Captained by Babu Mani and Coached by Amal Dutta.


1995 (Chennai): India defeated Bangladesh by a solitary Shabbir Pasha goal in the Final. Bruno Coutinho was the Captain while Rustam Akhramov stayed the Coach.


SAFF Championships:


Earlier known as the SAAC International Tournament, India have won the Championship five times in 1993, 1997, 1999, 2005 and 2011. In 2008, India finished as Runners-up.





South Asian Games:


India won two matches in the group phase against Sri Lanka (5-0) and Bangladesh (5-1) while drew against Maldives (0-0) and Nepal (0-0) to advance to the finals. In the final, the girls decimated their Nepalese counterparts by an unassailable margin of 4-0 to defend their Gold Medal in the South Asian Games.


SAFF Championship


The Indian Women's Senior National Team have bagged the SAFF Championship twice -- in 2010 and 2012 getting the better of Nepal 1-0 and 3-1 respectively on both occasions. 


SAF Games


The Indian Women's Senior National Team have won the 11th edition of the SAF Games in 2009, Bangladesh. 


AFC U-13 Tournament for Girls


The Indian Women’s U-13 Team won the AFC U-13 Tournament for Girls held in Sri Lanka.


AFC U-14 Tournament for Girls


The Indian Women’s U-14 Team won the AFC U-14 Tournament for Girls held in Sri Lanka in 2013.




The Indian Women’s Team achieved a Ranking of 50, their highest ever in the Month of August.